Google Shared Calendar


Ever found yourself whishing your friend, significant other or maybe parents (if you are a child) would be able to see when you will be busy and schedule their plans to best suite you both?

What is Google calendar?

Part of the Google Suite of tools and features is the Google Calendar. You can use this to create events and have those events synced and available on all your devices connected to your Google account. Google Calendar is already available to you if you have a Google account and you do not need to do anything else to get one. Android phones will more than likely already have the Google calendar application installed and some even have it already integrated into the phones default calendar system. It is also available as a downloadable application from the iTunes store and as a web page on any computer by visiting https://calendar.google.com.

What is Google calendar sharing?

Google has made it very easy to share your calendar and allow other people to subscribe to it if they so wish and have it automatically updated on their side as you schedule or move appointments around. You may find yourself “but who would use such a feature?” well it is mostly beneficial to share your calendar with the close people around you, imagine a child making sure their parents can see their schedules or maybe knowing beforehand whether your best friend will be available or not.

Setting Up Google Calendar Sharing

You can follow along for a quick overview on how to quickly configure calendar sharing in Google calendar.

  • You can log in to Google Calendar by going to https://calendar.google.com and signing in your Google account details
  • Click on the gear icon in the right hand top corner of the web page and select Settings
  • Click on the Calendars tab
  • And click on Share this calendar at the far right side of the page on the calendar you would like to have shared
  • You will have the option of making your calendar publicly available if you wish (recommendation: leave this unticked unless you have a specific reason for this feature)
  • You will have the option of typing another Google account email address and sharing your calendar with that person along with the permission you would like that person to have to your calendar
  • Save your settings and congratulations, you have shared your calendar with someone.

Remove Google Calendar Sharing

  • You can log in to Google Calendar by going to https://calendar.google.com and signing in your Google account details
  • Click on the gear icon in the right hand top corner of the web page and select Settings
  • Click on the Calendars tab
  • And click on Shared: Edit settings at the far right side of the page on the calendar you have shared
  • You will have the option to remove your public calendar listing (if you have selected it previously)
  • You will have a list of all the people your calendar has been shared too and the option to Remove the share
  • Save your settings and congratulations, you have removed a share on your calendar.

Removing Public Calendars you follow

You sometimes may find yourself subscribed to a publicly listed calendar that you would not like to see anymore. The next steps will give you a quick overview on how to remove these calendars.

  • You can log in to Google Calendar by going to https://calendar.google.com and signing in your Google account details
  • Click on the gear icon in the right hand top corner of the web page and select Settings
  • Click on the Calendars tab
  • To the bottom half of the screen you will see the heading for Other Calendars, and see the list of publicly listed calendars you are following
  • On the far right of the screen you will have an option to Unsubscribe the calendar you would like to have removed

About Ricardo Botha

I like working with Computers and learning new and interesting things. I enjoy helping people who appreciate the help. I love cool gadgets.

Leave a comment